Restaurant Review- Yours Truly, 229 Ossington

I am slowly expanding my foodie horizon into Dundas and Ossington territory, which is known for talented chefs dishing out powerful flavour using local, seasonal ingredients.

I had read about Yours Truly in Toronto Life and a heard a fair share of impressive reviews by friends who frequent the hipster bars on Ossington. The constantly updated Carte Blanch 20-course set menu is on the pricey side for a causal night out, so I let this restaurant temporarily fall off my “to eat” list. Safe to say my boyfriend gets huge brownie points for  choosing this restaurant for a surprise birthday dinner.

From start to finish our expectations were met with absolute engagement. A simple phone call to make reservations returned a rundown of the Carte Blanche process, the chef’s pride in his work and the promise of a special corner table for an intimate birthday celebration. Our server also snuck in a couple glasses of champagne while I was in the ladies room, which my all too honest boyfriend should have taken credit for.

Take a look online at the daily menu for Yours Truly. Rather than complete meals, only a list of fresh ingredients in stock for the current week are shown. If this doesn’t scream “local and creative” I don’t know what does.

Nothing is preselected with Carte Blanche. You put on your adventurous hat and wait for an explanation of each dish until the server puts it down in front of you. The dishes range from small samplers like a shot of cool cucumber soup topped with whipped yogurt, to more complete plates like Chantecler Rouge chicken. I won’t take you through each of the 20 exquisite tasters we were served as much of the experience is the surprise. I will tell you that within the first five dishes I sampled flavours and ingredients my senses have never before experienced. From frog’s legs to indirect heat-poached egg and cream and smoked sausage atop dried greens lit like incense, each flavour combination was distinct and robust.

Weather you are looking for a romantic evening with your significant other or an experience where you can share and discuss with a group of friends, I highly suggest setting 3-hours aside for this ride to flavour country.

Leave a Reply

